Reid, Boehner & McConnell Tap ‘Supercommittee’ Members

Written by Timothy Ruth on Aug. 11, 2011

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, and Speaker of the House John Boehner have all named three colleagues to take part in the supercommittee, which must come up with $1.5 trillion in deficit-reductions by Thanksgiving.

Reid, a Democrat from Nevada, selected three-fellow Democrats: Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus of Montana, former presidential candidate John Kerry of Massachusetts, and Patty Murray of Washington.

McConnell announced Wednesday that his slate of picks include John Kyl of Arizona, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania, and Rob Portman of Ohio.

On the House side of things, Boehner announced that he chose Ways and Means Chairman Dave Camp of Michigan, Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton of Michigan, and Republican Conference Chairman Jeb Hensarling of Texas.

The super committee will consist of 12 members, including six members from the House and six members from the Senate, and six different members of each respective party.

Minority Leader Nanci Pelosi of California will also name three members of the House and is required to do so by Tuesday.